Hamburger Cookies

These are without a doubt the cutest cookies I’ve ever seen or eaten. My Mum used to make them for me to bring to school on my birthday when I was little. My class and I absolutely loved them. Fast forward about 15 years later and I realized that I missed these minty little delights. I called my Mum up and asked her how to make them so that I could enjoy a little walk down memory lane. Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 package Mr. Christie’s Nilla (Vanilla Flavoured Wafers)
  • 3 dozen thin mints (I bought 3 packs of Zachary Thin Mints from Dollarama and it was the perfect size and amount)
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • green food colouring
  • honey/corn syrup/maple syrup (whatever you have in the house that you can use to stick sesame seeds with)

Mix a few drops of green food colouring with the coconut until it is lettuce-green. Put 36 vanilla wafers on a baking sheet, curved part down. Place a mint patty on each one and sprinkle some of the coconut lettuce on the top of the patty (you can brush a bit of honey on the top of the patty to help with making the coconut stay put if you wish). Now get another vanilla wafer and spread a tiny amount of honey (or whatever else you have) on the top. Sprinkle sesame seeds on the sticky part and place it on top of the patty. Looks adorable, doesn’t it?

Put the hamburger cookies in the oven at a low heat (around 225) for 3 or 4 minutes, watching carefully that they do not start melting. Take them out and gently press on the burgers so the parts stay together. If for whatever reason they do not want to stay together (this is usually because there is too much coconut on it), you can mix up a little batch of icing using icing sugar, a bit of butter, and green food colouring and put a tiny amount on top of the lettuce so that it binds to the top bun.

These cookies can last quite a while, but they usually get eaten so quickly that you won’t have to worry about that.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hamburger Cookies

  1. chow bella says:

    These are too cute!

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    These are super cute! I love it when food looks like other food, if that makes any sense.

    Like

  3. D.D. says:

    I asked for this recipe once I saw the pictures posted somewhere else, OMG! I just love how adorable they are. I have to make some quick.

    Like

Leave a Reply

