Zucchini Almond Cake

My Mum sent me a zucchini from her garden about a week ago. I was expecting a smallish one but was instead surprised with this gigantic monster that could easily be used as a weapon if need be. I’m not even joking. We had to clear out the entire crisper just so that this one zucchini could fit inside the fridge. I had to make something with it so that the other vegetables could go back into their crisper home. I decided to make a recipe that my Gran passed down to my Mum – Zucchini Almond Cake. It is the most moist and delicious zucchini cake I have ever eaten.

You’ll need:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 3 cups grated zucchini
  • 1 cup ground almonds

Topping:

  • 1 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4 cup toasted slivered almonds (put them on a cookie sheet lined with foil for a few minutes watching carefully until they are golden brown)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix the first four ingredients into a large bowl. In separate bowl, mix together eggs, sugar, vegetable oil, and almond extract. Add to the dry ingredient bowl and mix well. Then add zucchini and ground almonds. Pour into 2 greased pie plates and bake for 35-45 minutes or until the cakes look dark brown (but not burnt!). Let cool.

To make the topping, simply mix together the icing sugar, milk and almond extract. Drizzle it over the cake and then top with toasted almonds.

Just FYI, I only used about half of my zucchini for this recipe. Maybe I will donate the other half of it to the army or something. Thanks, Mum.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchini Almond Cake

  1. Max Smith says:

    I got here through a Google search and this looks absolutely divine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

