Versatile Asparagus Soup

Funny how we love some of the things we used to hate when we were kids. I am an avid asparagus fan but used to dislike it almost as much as spinach when I was little. Drizzle some melted butter and fresh lemon over it and I am in heaven. I recently discovered a bunch of asparagus in the fridge and decided that I was going to be more adventurous with it this time. So I made asparagus soup.

You will need:

  • 1.5 lbs fresh asparagus, washed and chopped into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup Italian parsley, roughly chopped
  • 4 cups chicken broth (substitute for vegetable broth if you want to make it a vegetarian soup)
  • 1/4 cup milk or cream
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • pepper to taste

In large pot, slowly sauté the onion and garlic with butter over low heat. Add pepper if desired. Once the onion has softened, add the pieces of asparagus as well as the parsley and cook for about 7 minutes. Add broth. Cover and let simmer for 20-25 minutes or until asparagus is nice and tender.

Now, you can serve the soup as it is if you do not want to puree it. I really enjoyed it like this and admittedly had a difficult time putting the sampling spoon down. I think next time I make it I will skip the pureeing part. If you want to make it into a deliciously creamy soup, here are the next few steps:

Take soup off the heat and allow it to cool down a tad. With a hand blender, puree until it has reached your desired consistency. Some people like everything to be perfectly smooth, but I personally like to leave a few delicious chunks here and there. Stir in the lemon juice and milk or cream. You can serve this either hot or cold. Both ways are delicious.

Now you know why I call this soup versatile!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

